hksc logo
Home membership Journal Meetings Links
Search papers_b_on.jpg Publications Webb Cup Wilde Cup

Webb Cup

Col. F. W. Webb (1962)

Col. F. W. Webb (1962)

Webb Cup

The Webb Cup



presented annually for the best original research article
by the
Hong Kong Study Circle

2023 No award
2022 Michel Houde
Book Cover Houde Bangkok The Webb Cup for 2022 was awarded to Michel Houde for his book entitled

British Consulate Post Office at Bangkok 1855 to 1885

2021 Richard Whittington
The Webb Cup for 2021 was awarded to Richard Whittington for his series of articles in the Journal dealing with 'philatelic/postal happenings' in Hong Kong during the 1950s ;
  1. Jnl. 393 - The Year 1950
  2. Jnl. 394 - The Year 1951
  3. Jnl. 396 - The Year 1952
  4. Jnl. 397 - The Year 1953
  5. Jnl. 398 - The Year 1954
2020 No award
2019 Ian Gibson-Smith
Hong Kong China Overprint $3
Awarded to Ian Gibson-Smith for his website entitled

The Hong Kong 'China' Overprints
British Offices in China 1917 – 1930
2018 Air Commodore Richard Gurevitch
The Webb Cup for 2018 went to Richard Gurevitch for his new book Hong Kong Franked Covers of the Queen Victoria Period
2017 3 Joint Winners

Michael Mead for his study entitled Hong Kong Civil Censorship Devices: World War II. (See Journal 380)

Philippe Orsetti for his papers on the website entitled United States Naval Hong Kong Markings and Red Cross Envelopes during the Japanese Occupation of Hong Kong. (See Papers section)

John Tang and Richard Whittington for their two airmail articles entitled Hong Kong Mail Sent by Air Via Karachi During and After 1929 and Mail Sent by Sea to the USA and Onward by US Air Mail Service (See Journals 380 & 381)
2016 Nick Halewood
The Webb Cup for 2016 has been awarded to Nick Halewood for his insightful article on 1938-52 and 1954-62 Definitives: Serial Sheet Numbering Variations, which appeared in Jn. 375/2 (October 2015).
2015 Richard Whittington
The Webb Cup for 2015 has been awarded to Richard Whittington for his excellent Air Mail Service and Late Fee articles in the HKSC Journal.
2014 Philippe Orsetti
Monograph of the Revenue Issues of Hong Kong
The Webb Cup for 2014 has been awarded to Philippe Orsetti for his excellent Hong Kong Fiscal Seals & Adhesives monograph on the Circle’s website.
2013 Michel Houde The Webb Cup for 2013 went to Michel Houde for the Hong Kong Study Circle’s Website. 
2012 Nick Halewood
HKSC Journal
The Webb Cup for 2012 went to Nick Halewood for the Hong Kong Study Circle’s Journal and Newsletter.
2011 Lee Scamp
2011 The Webb Cup for 2011 went to Lee Scamp for his new book  French Mail Paquebot Far East Itineraries 1862-1880.
2010 Philippe Orsetti

Philippe Orsetti for his contributions to the Hong Kong Security Markings Study Group and its website, and specifically for his update of the Far East Forwarding Agents Cancellations (FACs) recorded by Kenneth Rowe.

Philippe was the winner, and upon acceptance he pointed out that the honour went to all the members of the security markings group, thanking Frank Drake, Peter Pugh and Rod Sell for specific contributions.

2009 No award
2007/08 David F. Tett
2007_8_t.jpg This was awarded to David F. Tett for his book the A Postal History of the Prisoners of War and Civilian Internees in East Asia During The Second World War - Volume 4 Hong Kong and China 1941-1945.
R. C. Frajola, L. C. Scamp & M. O. Perlman
2006 winner This was awarded to R.C. Frajola, L. C. Scamp and M.O. Perlman for The United States Post Offices in China and Japan 1867-1874.
Edward Proud
2005_t.jpg This was awarded to Edward Proud for his new volume  The Postal History of Hong Kong 1841-1997.  This comprehensive book is an update to his earlier volume covering the period 1841-1958.
no award
Andrew Cheung
2003_t.jpg This was awarded to Andrew Cheung in his capacity as Editor of the Hong Kong Philatelic Society Journals. Andrew has produced seven of these since February 1997. They "are a fund of useful HK philatelic information."
Richard N. Gurevitch

Hong Kong : Queen Victoria Postal Adhesives, Vol. 1 & 2 published by Hong Kong Philatelic Society (2001)

Duncan Crewe and Nick Halewood
2001a_t.jpg  2001b_t.jpg Hong Kong Airmails 1924-41
Hong Kong Airmails 1945-95

both published by HKSC (2000)
Timothy J. B. Webb
2000_t.jpg Hong Kong Study Circle Bulletins
published by HKSC
Alfred M. Chu
1999_t.jpg Hong Kong : The 1898 10c on 30c Provisional Issue
published by the author (1998)
Lee C. Scamp
1998_t.jpg Far East Mail Ship Itineraries, 1840-1880, Vol. 1
published by the author (1997)
Shiu-Hon Chan
1997_t.jpg The 1891 Jubilee Overprint of Hong Kong
published by Philatelic Publications Ltd (1997)
Nick Halewood and David Antscherl
 1996_t.jpg A Study of Hong Kong Definitives : King Edward VII and King George V
published by HKSC (1995)
Ming W. Tsang
1995_t.jpg Hong Kong Forgeries
published by the author (1994)
1994 Air Commodore R. N. Guerevitch
1994_t.jpg The Hong Kong Postage Stamps of the Queen Victoria Period - 'A Collector's Notebook'
1993 Ming W. Tsang
1993_t.jpg Hong Kong Registration Labels
1992 Mr. Antscherl and Mr. Halewood
1992_t.jpg A Study of the Hong Kong Definitive Adhesives of King George VI  
published by HKSC (1992)
1991 Dr. H. Schoenfeld
1991_t.jpg Postal Stationery of Hong Kong
1990 Dr. H. Schoenfeld
1990_t.jpg Cancellations of Hong Kong, The first 100 years 1841-1941
1989 Dr. H. Schoenfeld
1989_t.jpg Cancellations of the Treaty Ports of Hong Kong; 1830-1930
1988 L.C. Scamp
1988_t.jpg 20th Century Hong Kong UPU surface mail
1987 L.C. Scamp
1987_t.jpg The Postal Rate History of China and Hong Kong, 1800-1845
1986 M. Goldsmith & C.W. Goodwyn
1986_t.jpg The Crown Colony of Wei Hai Wei
NOTE: From 1986 onward the Webb Cup was awarded to books. Before 1986 the awards went to articles not necessarily published in the HKSC Journals.
1985 Mr. Norton - Treaty Ports Registration Handstamps (1831-1930)
1984 Mr. M. Goldsmith & Mr. L.C. Scamp - Supplementary Obliterator & Opium Wars Sequels

1983 Mr. R. Kirk - British Maritime Postal History Volume 2
1982 Mr. C.W. Goodwyn - Research on Cash covers

1981 Mr. R. Kirk - British Maritime Postal History Volume 1
1980 Mr. R. KirkShanghai and the P & O

1979 Mr. C.C. Gower - Bulletin 218
1978 Mr. R. Kirk - The P & O and the Hong Kong Mails - Part 3 – Tea and Opium
1977 Mr. W. Metzelaar - Articles on the Yokohama Consular Posts

1976 no award
1975 Mr. C.C. Gower
- Continuous work on the Bulletin

1974 Mr. C. D'Almada - 1885, 1891 and 1898 Provisional Issues

1973 Mr. P.H. Dunn
- Instructional markings

1972 Mr. C.C. GowerBulletin editions
1971 Wing Cr. P.I. Padget & Mr. P.C. Pearson - Joint paper on Fiscals

1970 Colonel D.R. Wood - Military – & markings from 1949

1969 no award

1968 Mr. P.C. Pearson - Article on Queen Victoria Plate 2
1967 Mr. P.C. Pearson
- Articles on the Decimal Surcharges
1966 Mr. E.A. Paterson - Article on Macao Boat Office

1965 Mr. P.C. Pearson - Research article on the Provisional Issues of Hong Kong

1964 Colonel F.W. Webb
- Branch office cancellations (Bulletin 110)
1963 Mr. W.R. Wellsted
- Article on Trans-Pacific Post

The Webb Cup was first awarded in 1963.

Thanks to Philippe Orsetti for supplying much of the content and images of the winning entries.


Home | Membership and Fees | HKSC Journal | Meetings Scheduled | Links
Search | Papers | Publications | Webb Cup | Wilde Cup

Hong Kong Study Circle